Die Mamba

Piet Botha's 'Die Mamba' was his first since leaving EMI and returning to his indie roots with Rhythm Records. The album found this respected and adored Afrikaans musician releasing what is regarded by his many devotees as his finest work since his seminal album, ''n Suitcase Vol Winter', in 1997.

'Die Mamba' boasts a stunning title track with its wry look (back?) at groupies, or "bokkies" as they are referred to here. There's 'Bordello', a rewrite of 'The House Of The Rising Son' that situates this traditional folk classic in Johannesburg; 'Die Gemmerbroodman', which is a nod to the backing track 'superstars'; and there's an emotional look at both the destructive effects of the apartheid-era border war ('Jacob Klipkop') and the current US situation ('Al Die Stede'), which is also Piet's sincere dedication to Nelson Mandela.

Piet Botha dug deep for his inspiration behind 'Die Mamba', and the album is a warm, lyrical, sentimental and ultimately powerful experience. Botha has combined his evocative songwriting and musical wisdom and experience, gained from many years on the SA music circuit, with the young musical talents of guitarist Johnathan Martin and the other musicians in his backing band, Jack Hammer, to craft an album rich in imagery, personal observations, and wonderful songs. Piet Botha's 'Die Mamba' is the SA Rock Digest Album Of The Year for 2003.


# Title Length
1 Warm Heuning 4:49
2 Bye Bye My Darling 3:56
3 Man Met Kitaar 5:25
4 Die Mamba 5:03
5 O My Heiland 5:05
6 Al Die Stede 4:00
7 Skielik Somer 4:26
8 Die Gemmerbroodman 3:55
9 Bordello 4:52
10 Bosveldpad 3:25
11 Herfsdagtes 4:34
12 Kitty 4:34
13 Jacob Klipkop 5:32