Metro Fm Awards 2017 - What's Next?

In November 2016 The South African Broadcasting Corporation’s (SABC) radio station METRO FM, announced the launch of the 16th METRO FM Music Awards (MMA’s). 

The awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on Saturday, the 25th of February 2017 at the iNkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban. Last years' event was spectacular albeit riddled with conspiracies and drama regarding categories, nominations and awards buying. This year, we hope, it will be no different. Drama is life.

The 16th edition of the Metro FM Music Awards is themed ‘What’s Next Is All That Matters,’ building onto last year’s theme, ‘Legends Don’t Stop, They Ask What’s Next’. The theme indicates that it’s not just about getting that hit song play-listed on Metro FM, it’s not about finishing off a great album and it’s not about having a great video to go with your track, but about what you do next to continue building onto your glories.

Once again the awards will see winners walking away a R100 000 prize money per category.

Check below for the full list of #MMA16 nominees…

Best top 5 African pop albums
Musa —  Mr Serious
Amanda Black — Amazulu
Vusi Nova —  Naninina
Soul Kulture — Ngeliny’langa
Sjava — Isina Muva

Best top 5 collaborations
Ms Pru — Ameni
Bucie — Rejoice
DJ Speedsta — Mayo
Kwesta — Mayibabo

Best top 5 compilation albums
DJ Tokzen — Mmthi’s Essential Sel 7
DJ Qness — Essential Selection
DJ Fresh — Fresh House Flava Vol 9

Best top 5 dance albums
Babes Wodumo — Gqom Queen Vol 1
Dr Malinga — Goodwill
Mobi Dixon — Live The Music
Mpumi — The Birth Of Mpumi
DJ Merlon — Original Copy

Best top 5 female albums
Amanda Black — Amazulu
Babes Wodumo — Gqom Queen Vol 1
Kelly Khumalo — My Truth
Lebo Sekgobela — Restored
Brenda Mntambo — So Much Love

Best top 5 group albums
Jaziel Brothers — Out Of The Box
The Soil — Echoes of Kofifi
Soul Kulture — Ngeliny’langa
Durban’s Finest — Reloaded
Encore — Encore

Best top 5 hit single
City Lyts — Vura
Riky Rick — Sidlukotini
AKA — One Time
Ms Pru — Ameni
DJ Speedsta — Mayo

Best top 5 hip hop
Kwesta — Dakar
A Reece — Paradise
Anatii — Artifact
Nasty C — Bad Hair Extension
DJ Slique — Inayam Vol 1

Best top kwaito single
Mshoza — Abantu Bam
L’Vovo — Amatin Tin
Vetkoek & Mahoota — Sohamba Ngo 7
Sosha — Good Times

Best top 5 male album
Nasty C — Bad Hair Extensions
Kwesta — Dakar
Sjava — Isina Muva
Mobi Dixon — Live The Music
A Reece — Paradise

Best top 5 music video
Du Boiz — Dope Dream
Benchmarq — All On Me
Khuli Chana — One Source
Mafikizolo — Kucheza
Anatii — Jump

Best top 5 new artists
Babes Wodumo — Gqom Queen
Nasty C — Bad Hair Extensions
Amanda Black — Amazulu
Sjava — Isina Muva
Soul Kulture — Ngeliny’langa

Best top 5 urban gospel albums
Dr Tumi — Love & Grace
Lebo Sekgobela — Restored
Joyous Celebration — Joyous Celebration 20
We Will Worship — Mmuso
Khaya Mthethwa — The Dawn

Best top 5 urban jazz album
Jimmy Dludlu — In The Groove
Brenda Mntambo — So Much More
Thandiswa — Belede
Hugh Masekela — No Borders
Henry Philemon — Man Of Defination

Best top 5 R&B single
Amanda Black — Separate
Floda — Decapitate Me
Charlie Mindgames — As Long As You
Zonke Funky — Lovin
Joocy — Thathinhliziyo

Best top 5 remixes
DJ Ganyani —Talk To Me
Prince Kaybee —Don’t Give Up
Thee Legacy —Wena Wedwa (Remix)
Bob’ezy —Close To You
Thee Legacy —S’thandwa Sami Remix

One Africa Award
Tekno Pana —(Nigeria)
Vee Mampeezy — I Do (Botswana)
Tiwa Savage — If I Start To Talk (Nigeria)
Kommanda Obbs — Ke Tauwa (Lesotho)
Patoranking — Kissing (Nigeria)

Best top 10 songs of the year
Babes Wodumo — Wololo
Musa ft Robbie — Malinga Mthande
Kwesta — Ngudu
Amanda Black  — Amazulu
Dr Malinga — Akulaleki
Durban’s Finest feat. Professor — Umsindo
Kind Monada — Ska Bora Moreki
Nasty C — Hell Naw
Lebo Sekgobela  — Lion of Judah
Black Motion  — Imali

Visit the Metro FM website on for more information and details around call for submissions and stay tuned to Metro FM for more information.